Observations – KL Visit – Islamic Art Museum Part 6

I am thinking , since I am traveling around quite often these days, to make this type of article a feature on this blog – my visits to various types of Islamic landmarks, Mosques and Museums and such. I will keep pondering about this subject, in the meantime, this is the next part of my KL Visit series of articles.

Moving on from the Qur’an and Manuscript gallery, you will find an intriguing U-shaped hall (the hall wraps around one of the elevators, reaching from the Qur’an Gallery to the China Gallery, the first one that we visited) that hosts the Architecture Gallery. This, apart from the Qur’an and Manuscript gallery, is easily my favourite gallery. As the name suggests, the gallery showcases the Architecture of Islam from all over the world, both external architecture as well as the interior design. This Gallery features a number of faithfully recreated models of mosques from all around the world, including the two Holy Mosques of Mecca and Medina, a tall throne-like Minbar, a Syrian marble fountain and interiors of a Mosque and a residential room.

My parents linger quite a while in this gallery (I think they were looking for a model of a local Mosque, or mesmerized by the Masjidil Haram of Mecca model) so I had some time to look around the hall. Although, this is where my camera battery died (Thank you Sony Ericcson!) so I had to use my sub-par iPod camera. Better than nothing I guess!

One of the interiors on display

This is one of the recreated interiors in the gallery. You cannot enter the room, but you can admire it from the doorway. The decoration is Syrian, as the gallery noted.

Marble fountain in the middle of the gallery

The Fountain in the middle of the Hall. I am pretty sure that this particular fountain came from Syria, since the pattern of the Geometric designs are quite unique to the region.

One of the models

A model of a wooden mosque in Thailand. I think I had an article featuring this mosque. You can see the very traditional southern Thai architecture here, but used for a religious building.

A model of the Holy Mosque of Mecca

A Model of the Masjidil Haram in Mecca, with the Kaabah in the center. My parents linger on this model for a few minutes, perhaps it reminds them of their Haj trip 14 years ago. When I see the look on their faces when they examine the model, I prayed that I can have the chance to bring them to another trip there…aamin

The Dome of the Rock

A model recreation of the Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem,  Palestine. Considering that my country prohibits entrance into Israel, this is the closest I could get to the third holiest site in the Muslim World….

Model of The Prophet’s Mosque of Medina

The Model of the Masjidin Nabawi in Medina. This particular model is very, very large one and very detailed. In the middle you can see the raised conical umbrellas, where in the real life mosque it is referred to as the Raudhah – a place between the Prophet’s house (now his tomb, just under that green dome) and his mosque.

A model of a Chinese Mosque

A model of a mosque in China at the Gallery. I am not sure which mosque this model is (I didn’t find the note) but it could be the oldest mosque in China, the Huaisheng mosque, or the Great Mosque of Xi’an – the latter is more likely

Model of the Ummayad Mosque

A model of the Great Mosque of Damascus, or the Ummayad Mosque, in Damascus, Syria. I liked how detailed this model looks, down to the mosaics of the facade of the mosque, and its multiple minarets.

A recreated Minbar

A wooden recreated Minbar with a seat on top of it. I think it is from a Central Asian country, possibly Iran. I just realized that the patterns decorating the Minbar is very odd and irregular, particularly the pattern for the back of the seat.

2 Comments

Filed under Observations

2 responses to “Observations – KL Visit – Islamic Art Museum Part 6

  1. Chairul Bahri

    Actually, there is nothing irregular about this pattern. This pattern is called quasi-crystal. New type of crystal of 5-fold and 7-fold symmetries were discovered in Nature recently.

    • Hello, thanks for your feedback. For all we know, patterns in nature may have been existed for millions of years! This pattern is irregular, in my opinion, because of it is seldom used in Islamic art.

Leave a Reply

